Southern California Genealogical Society
SCGS PROGRAM - 2019 Webinar Series

Webinar Series - SCGS is there for you, no matter where you live. Join our twice-monthly webcasts with knowledgeable genealogists to help grow what you know.

The initial broadcast is free and open to the public.

Register by clicking the links below.

  • You MUST Register to participate.
  • Click on the Webinar Title you want to attend listed below.
  • Register with our partner website, GoToWebinar.com.
  • Enter your name and email address and answer a few questions. You will receive confirmation of your registration by email.
  • You will also receive reminders before the webinar. The reminder email will have information on accessing the handout material.
  • On the day of the session, click the link that you received in your invitation to GoToWebinar.com to join the online session. (More Info)

    Need to know what time it will be where you live?
    Go to TimeZone Converter.com | WorldClock


powered by FreeFind

OVERVIEW

These one-hour webinar presentations are given twice monthly, on the first Saturday and third Wednesday of each month and are conducted by professional genealogical speakers and expert lecturers.

Download the Webinar Brochure Now!
Archived broadcasts are available 24/7 to all SCGS members.
For more info and answers to frequently asked questions, click here.
Date Start time is always Pacific Time
Saturday, November 2 *TIME CHANGE 11:00 AM - Pacific, 12:00 AM - Mountain, 1:00 PM - Central, 2:00 PM - Eastern
Mastering the Library and Archives Canada Website
by Christine Woodcock

Library and Archives Canada (LAC) is the best free website for researching your ancestors in Canada. Not knowing how to use the website can lead to confusion and frustration. This presentation is your personal tour of the LAC website. Learn how the records are arranged, where to quickly find the databases you want to research, and ultimately locate the records to find your ancestors in Canada.

Christine Woodcock
Date Start time is always Pacific Time
Wednesday, November 20 6:00 PM - Pacific, 7:00 PM - Mountain, 8:00 PM - Central, 9:00 PM - Eastern
Immigration & Naturalization
by Seema Kenney

Immigration & Naturalization - an introduction to, and examples of, the paperwork required to move to, live in, and become a citizen of our nation.

Seema Kenney is a wife, mother of 3, and anentrepreneur. Seema is an experienced software instructor and a professional genealogist. Based on over 20 years of research, her known roots are deep in New England as well as England, Germany, and Sweden. She has a certificate in Genealogical Research from BU, completed ProGen and is an active member of several societies. Seema is also certified as a Guided Autobiography Consultant and a Legacy Planner.
Date Start time is always Pacific Time
Saturday, December 7 10:00 AM - Pacific, 11:00 AM - Mountain, 12:00 PM - Central, 1:00 PM - Eastern
European Surnames and How They Can Help in Genealogical Research
by Julie Goucher

In this presentation we consider the broad elements of researching a European surname and then expand outwards to include other important factors such as culture, geography, borders and links with other areas outside of Europe, including the influence of European Empires. We too explore religion, history, languages including alphabet and dialects. We further address naming patterns across Europe.

Julie Goucher has been a keen genealogist since the late 1980s, and has a special interest in Italian and European family history. She is a published author and writes for the In-Depth Genealogist and a varity of genealogical magazines and journals. She is also the tutor for the Pharos course, Introduction to One-Name Studies.
Date Start time is always Pacific Time
Wednesday, December 18 6:00 PM - Pacific, 7:00 PM - Mountain, 8:00 PM - Central, 9:00 PM - Eastern
Post-WWII Immigration: US Holocaust Memorial Museum Digital Resources
by Michelle Tucker Chubenko

As the designated repository for North America, the USHMM offers access to the International Tracing Services digital archives as well as exclusive Holocaust related databases created from ghetto and camp lists, survivor testimony and many other resources. This presentation will introduce researchers to USHMM's digital collections to utilize when researching Holocaust and post-WWII immigrants.

Michelle Tucker Chubenko is a professional genealogist and researcher with Legacy Tree Genealogists. With 28 years' experience researching ancestral roots in colonial America and the 20th century flair of her maternal Eastern European ancestry (Ukrainian and Hungarian), she specializes in New Jersey and Eastern European research. She is a founding member with the "Nashi Predky/Our Ancestors" Family History Group at the Ukrainian History and Education Center.